The Department of Geography was established in 1964 as part of the Faculty of Arts and Social Sciences of the University of Dar es Salaam. Prof Leonard Berry was the first Head of Department (1965 -1969). Under his headship the Bureau of Resource Assessment was established in 1967, currently known as the Institute of Resource Assessment (IRA). Prof Temple took over as the head of the Department (1969 – 1973) and thereafter Tanzanians have been heading the department. In 2009 the University of Dar es Salaam has undergone transformation where the Department of Geography is now part of College of Arts and Social Sciences.

In the Department of Geography research is conducted within the following themes: Environmental degradation and conservation, Agricultural geography, Geographical Information Systems, Urban and rural planning, Urban and rural livelihoods and climate change. There are a number of research groups including Master’s Students, PhD students and staff.

University of Dar es Salaam
Department of Geography
PO. Box 35091
Dar es Salaam

Phone: 00255 22 2410509,  00255 22 2410628
Fax: 00255 22 2410023


Davis Mwamfupe
Prof. Dr.
Phone: 00255 744 265527
Salome Misana
Prof. Dr.